STSE > News


Topical Conference: Earth Observation and Cryosphere Science

20 March 2012

The Earth Observation and Cryosphere Science Conference will take place at ESA-ESRIN, Frascati, Italy, 13-16 November 2012.

To access the conference web site please, click HERE.


Recent advances in Earth observation (EO) satellites have improved observations of several key parameters governing major processes in the cryosphere. Available missions, such as CryoSat-2, IceSat, GRACE, GOCE, SMOS, ENVISAT, RADARSAT-1 and -2, TerraSAR-X, Tandem-X, Cosmo-Skymed and the coming Sentinel-1 and Sentinel-3, as well as historical mission data, offer an exciting panorama for new scientific developments and discoveries in cryosphere science. The full exploitation of this capacity by the scientific community requires coordinated research efforts to develop robust EO-based products and facilitate their integration into suitable modelling systems aiming at better characterising the different processes in the cryosphere domain and the interactions among the cryosphere, the atmosphere and the oceans.

The purpose of this topical conference is to advance our knowledge on the potential offered by EO technology to answer some of the major open questions in cryosphere science with special attention to cryosphere-atmosphere-ocean interactions; to review the latest developments on advanced EO-based geo-information data products addressing major cryosphere processes; and to identify the major scientific requirements and challenges of the cryosphere scientific community for the coming years.


The specific objectives of the conference are:


Contributions are sought for presentations on the state-of-the-art research and developments in the use of EO for cryosphere science. Invited keynotes will give overviews of problems, progress and prospects in key areas. Poster presentations (with a short introduction) will be the main form of presentation. Plenty of time will be reserved for discussions.

Preliminary list of relevant topics:
• Reducing uncertainties in mass balance estimates;
• Ice sheet dynamics;
• Ice shelf-ocean interactions;
• Snow, snow albedo and snow water equivalent;
• Hydrology in high latitudes and extreme events;
• Polar ocean, dynamic topography, and circulation;
• Sea ice, thickness and dynamics;
• Permafrost and seasonally frozen ground;
• Glaciers and Ice caps;
• Ice-ocean-atmosphere interactions;
• Role of Cryosphere in climate;
• Cryosphere and ocean dynamics (e.g., thermohaline circulation);
• Cryosphere interactions with the carbon cycle;
• Role of the Cryosphere in the water cycle;
• Lake and river ice;



A special issue in a peer-reviewed journal is planned to be organised as a result of the conference.


Abstracts should be written in plan text on one A4 and submitted before 15th June 2012. Both selected papers from oral and poster sessions will be published in the conference proceedings.


September 2012
More information will be available soon.


Call for Abstracts March 2012
Abstract Submission 15 June 2012
Notification of Acceptance and Preliminary Programme 30 July 2012
Extended Abstract Submission and Symposium 13-16 November 2012


Organising Committee
Diego Fernández Prieto (ESA)
Jenny Baeseman (CliC Project Office) Norway
Mark Drinkwater (ESA)
Vladimir Ryabinin (WCRP)
Jonathan Bamber, University of Bristol, UK (EGU)
Anna Hogg (ESA)

International Scientific Committee
Andrew Shepherd, University of Leeds, UK
Anny Cazenave, CNES, France
Bernd Scheuchl, University of California, Irvine, USA
Katharine Giles, University College of London, UK
Claude Duguay, University of Waterloo, Canada
David Barber, University of Manitoba, Canada
Edward Hanna, University of Sheffield, UK
Eric Rignot, JPL. USA
Frédérique Rémy, CNES-LEGOS, France
Gino Casassa, CECs, Valdivia, Chile
Giovanni Macelloni, IFAC-CNR, Italy
Heinrich Miller, Alfred Wegener Institute, Germany
Helmut Rott, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Ian Joughin,University of Washington, USA
Jay Zwally, NASA, USA
Jérôme Benveniste (ESA)
Jouni Pulliainen, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Finland
Marcus Engdahl (ESA)
Michael Kern (ESA)
Michiel van den Broeke, University of Utrecht, Netherlands
Monique Bernier, INRS, Canada
Noel Gourmelen, University of Strasbourg, France
Ola Grabak (ESA)
René Forsberg, DTU-S, Denmark
Rune Solberg, Norwegian Computing Center, Norway
Sebastian Gerland, Norwegian Polar Institute, Norway
Seymour Laxon, University College of London, UK
Stefan Kern, University of Hamburg, Germany
Stein Sandven, NERSC, Norway
Tommaso Parrinello (ESA)
Wolfgang Dierking, Alfred Wegener Institute, Germany
Wolfgang Rack, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Ernst Schrama - Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
Frank Paul - University of Zurich, Switzerland
Isabella Velicogna - University of California - Irvine, USA


Useful Information

Brochure: STSE | Support to Science Element
STSE Report 2008-2012
STSE Conferences